Northern Fleet

to get instant updates about 'Northern Fleet' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Red Banner Northern Fleet (, Severnyy Flot) is a unit of the Russian Navy that has access to the Barents and Norwegian Seas, the Arctic and Atlantic Oceans, and is responsible for the defense of northwestern Russia. It was established in 1937 as part of the Soviet Navy. The fleet's headquarters, including its main base and administrative centre, is in Severomorsk; secondary bases are located throughout the Kola Gulf. During the Soviet Era it operated more than 200 submarines ranging from diesel-electric attack (SS) to nuclear-powered ballistic missile (SSBN) classes.


The Arctic Sea and White Sea Flotillas

On June 19, 1916, the Russian Empire formed the Arctic Sea Flotilla (Флотилия Северного Ледовитого океана, or Flotiliya Severnogo Ledovitogo okeana) to safeguard Allied transportation routes through the Barents Sea from German naval forces. After the October Revolution, the Soviet Navy formed the White Sea Flotilla (Беломорская флотилия, or Belomorskaya flotiliya) in March 1920, based in Arkhangelsk. The White Sea Flotilla was renamed as the Naval Forces of the North Sea and disbanded in January 1923.

The Northern Flotilla

In the early 1933, the Northern Flotilla was formed by transferring ships from the Baltic Fleet. Two destroyers, two patrol boats (Smerch and Uragan), and two D-class submarines (Dekabrist (D-1)...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from