Northern Islands Municipality

Northern Islands Municipality

Northern Islands Municipality

to get instant updates about 'Northern Islands Municipality' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Northern Islands Municipality is one of the four main political divisions of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. It consists of a long string of the northernmost islands of the Northern Marianas, including (from north to south) Farallon de Pajaros, the Maug Islands, Asuncion, Agrihan, Pagan, Alamagan, Guguan, Zealandia Bank, Sarigan, Anatahan, and Farallon de Medinilla. The total land area of the islands, including offshore islets and rocks, is 154.755 kmĀ² (59.75 sq mi).


As of April 1, 2000, the 2000 census reported a municipality-wide population of only 6 persons (all on the island of Alamagan), but Pagan and Agrihan are also known to have seasonal populations. Many Northern Island inhabitants have secondary residences on Saipan due to economic, educational or other needs. Some islands had also been evacuated due to volcanic activities such as in the case of Anatahan (2003) and Pagan (early 1980s, since reinhabited).

The mayor's office and municipality administration, traditionally in the village of Shomushon on Pagan, is now "in exile" on Saipan. There are more than 100 registered voters in the municipality. For the NMI House of Representatives, Northern Islands voters are grouped with one of the Saipan districts.

Transportation and Communications

Most of the Northern Islands can only be reached by boat, except for an airstrip that serves Pagan. There are no electricity or telephone systems, and residents rely on generators for...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from