Northwestern League

Northwestern League

Northwestern League

to get instant updates about 'Northwestern League' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Northwestern League was a minor league baseball league that operated from 1883–1884, and again from 1886-1887. It was founded by Elias Matter in 1883.



The original teams in the Northwestern League were the Peoria Reds, the Toledo Blue Stockings, the Fort Wayne Hoosiers, the Saginaw Greys, and teams from Bay City, Michigan; Grand Rapids, Michigan; Quincy, Illinois; and Springfield, Illinois. The Blue Stockings won the championship.

In 1884, teams from Evansville, Indiana; Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Minneapolis, Minnesota; Muskegon, Michigan; St. Paul, Minnesota; Stillwater, Minnesota; Terre Haute, Indiana; and Winona, Minnesota joined the league. The new teams included the original Minneapolis Millers. Springfield and Toledo had left the league after the 1883 season.

Bay City disbanded from the league on July 22, and started a chain reaction. Evansville left on July 30, and Grand Rapids and Muskegon followed suit on August 2. The season ended when the Millers disbanded on September 3. St. Paul and Milwaukee left for the Union Association on September 27.


In 1886, the league was recreated when teams from Duluth, Minnesota; Eau Claire, Wisconsin; Milwaukee, Minnesota, St. Paul, and Oshkosh, Wisconsin were added to the league.

In 1887, teams from Des Moines, Iowa; La Crosse, Wisconsin; and St. Paul joined the Northwestern League. Only 2 teams had left the league. Oshkosh won the championship.

The Northwestern...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from