Nova Scotia Court of Appeal

Nova Scotia Court Of Appeal

Nova Scotia Court of Appeal

to get instant updates about 'Nova Scotia Court Of Appeal' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Court of Appeal for Nova Scotia (frequently referred to as Nova Scotia Court of Appeal or NSCA) is the highest appeal court in the province of Nova Scotia, Canada. There are currently seven Justices and one Chief Justice. The court sits in Halifax, which is the capital of Nova Scotia. Cases are heard by a panel of three judges and over the year they rule on roughly 250 cases.


The court derives its power from legislation of the Nova Scotia legislature, the Judicature Act.<!-- Note: the correct name of the legislation is "Judicature Act"; its long name is "An Act Respecting the Supreme Court and Procedure in That Court". See --> It hears appeals from the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, Provincial Court of Nova Scotia, and various tribunals.

Only the Supreme Court of Canada has jurisdiction to hear appeals from decisions of the Nova Scotia Court of Appeal; in practice this happens a few times a year.


Past Judges

  • Chief Justice Constance Glube (1998 - 2005)
  • Justice Gerald Freeman (1998 - 2006)
  • Justice Ronald Napier Pugsley (1993 - 2000)
  • Justice David Ritchie Chipman (1987 - 2000)
  • Justice J. Doane Hallett (? - 1997)
  • Justice Thomas Cromwell (1997 - 2008)
  • Justice Elizabeth Ann Roscoe (1992 - 2010)
  • Justice Nancy J. Bateman (1995 - 2010)

External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from