Nyitra County

Nyitra County

Former Subdivision
Former Subdivision Less

Nyitra County

to get instant updates about 'Nyitra County' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

:For the region in Slovakia see Nitra region.

Nyitra county (in Slovak: Nitriansky komitát / Nitrianska stolica / Nitrianska župa, in Latin: comitatus Nitriensis, in Hungarian Nyitra (vár)megye, in German Neutraer Gespanschaft/Komitat Neutra) is the name of a historic administrative county (comitatus) of the Kingdom of Hungary. Its territory is presently in western Slovakia.


Nyitra county shared borders with the Austrian land Moravia and the Hungarian counties Trencsén (Trenčín), Turóc (Turiec), Bars (Tekov), Komárom and Pozsony (current Bratislava). In its final phase, it was a strip of land between the Morava river in the north and the town of Érsekújvár" (Nové Zámky) in the south, plus an outlier around the town of Privigye (Prievidza). The river Váh (Vág) flowed through the county. Its area was 5519 km² around 1910.


The capital of the county was the Nitra Castle and since the Late Middle Ages the town of Nyitra (Nitra).


A kind of predecessor of the Nyitra county existed as early as in the 9th century at the time of Great Moravia. Around 1000, the Nyitra county arose as one of the first comitatus of the Kingdom of Hungary. The southern part of it, including the town Nyitra, was ruled as Uyvar Province between 1663-1685 by Ottoman Empire.

In the aftermath of World War I, Nyitra county became part of newly formed Czechoslovakia, as recognized by the concerned states in the 1920 Treaty of Trianon. Nitra county......
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Subdivision
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from