Ontario general election, 1975

Ontario General Election, 1975

Ontario general election, 1975

to get instant updates about 'Ontario General Election, 1975' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Ontario general election of 1975 was held on September 18, 1975, to elect the 125 members of the 30th Legislative Assembly of Ontario (Members of Provincial Parliament, or "MPPs") of the Province of Ontario, Canada.

The Ontario Progressive Conservative Party, led by Bill Davis and campaigning under the slogan, "Your Future. Your choice.", won a tenth consecutive term in office. It lost its majority in the legislature, however, for the first time since the 1945 election. The PC Party lost 27 seats from its result in the previous election.

The social democratic Ontario New Democratic Party, led by Stephen Lewis with the slogan "Tomorrow starts today", doubled its representation in the legislature, and became the official opposition on the strength of a campaign which called for rent control and highlighted horror stories of individuals bad landlords and exorbitant rent increases. The campaign forced the Davis Tories to promise shortly before the election to implement rent controls.

The Ontario Liberal Party, led by Robert Nixon, won 15 additional seats, but lost the role of official opposition to the NDP. One member of its caucus was elected as a Liberal-Labour candidate.


See also

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from