Orkney and Shetland (UK Parliament constituency)

Orkney And Shetland (UK Parliament Constituency)

UK ConstituencyMain
UK ConstituencyMain

Orkney and Shetland (UK Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'Orkney And Shetland (UK Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Orkney and Shetland is a constituency of the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It elects one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election. In the Scottish Parliament, Orkney and Shetland are separate constituencies.

The constituency was historically known as Orkney and Zetland - an alternative name for Shetland.


The constituency is made up of the two island groups Orkney, and Shetland. A constituency of this name has existed continuously since 1708. However before 1918 the town of Kirkwall (the capital of Orkney) formed part of the Northern Burghs constituency.

Uniquely, the constituencies boundaries are protected by legislation, as rule 3A of the Boundary Commission rules states: "A constituency which includes the Orkney Islands or the Shetland Islands shall not include the whole or any part of a local government area other than the Orkney Islands and the Shetland Islands." This rule was added in 1999 as part of the Scotland Act 1998, which established the Scottish parliament

Member of Parliament

The constituency has elected only Liberal and Liberal Democrat MPs since 1950, the longest run of any British Parliamentary Constituency. (1 October 2009) www.snptacticalvoting.com Retrieved...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


UK Constituency Main
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from