Osa Canton

to get instant updates about 'Osa Canton' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Osa is the name of the fifth canton in the province of Puntarenas in Costa Rica. The canton covers an area of 1,930.24 km². Its capital city is Ciudad Cortés, formerly known as Puerto Cortés.

The canton begins at the Río Barú near Dominical on the central Pacific coast. It continues as a narrow strip of land southward to include the area around Palmar and Sierpe, finally widening to take in the entire neck and upper portion of the Osa Peninsula, where significant gold mining operations are located.

The canton of Osa is subdivided into 5 distritos (districts).

  1. Cortés
  2. Palmar
  3. Sierpe
  4. Bahía Ballena
  5. Piedras Blancas

In the canton are parks such as Corcovado National Park , Ballena Marine National Park and Piedras Blancas.


The canton was created by law on July 29, 1940. In pre-Columbian times was populated by Brunca which left legacies such as fields and stone walkways.


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from