Paralympic alpine skiing

Paralympic Alpine Skiing

Paralympic alpine skiing

to get instant updates about 'Paralympic Alpine Skiing' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Paralympic alpine skiing is an adaptation of alpine skiing for athletes with a disability. Paralympic alpine skiing is one of the sports in the Paralympic Winter Games. It is governed by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) under the auspices of the International Ski Federation (FIS).

In addition to the Paralympic Games, elite disabled ski racing includes the IPC Alpine Skiing World Championships (held every four years from 1980 to 2004 and every two years beginning in 2009) and the IPC Alpine Skiing World Cup, an annual international racing circuit. Below the World Cup level, races are held at the Continental Cup level. The Europa (or European) Cup is contested in Europe, and the Nor-Am Cup in North America; additionally, sub-World Cup-level races are also held in East Asia, Australia, New Zealand, and South America.

In 1984, giant slalom races for four categories of male standing skiers were held as a demonstration sport at the Winter Olympics. In 1988 a disabled GS was again demonstrated, this time for men and women but limited to "three-trackers" (above-knee amputees).

Ski racers with a disability compete in three different medal categories: standing, sitting, and visually impaired. Each of these groups is divided into three to seven classes, some of which are further subdivided into two or three sub-classes. Within each of the three major categories, times are compared by means of a "factor system" that attempts to put athletes with different...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from