Parliament of Victoria

Parliament Of Victoria


Parliament of Victoria

to get instant updates about 'Parliament Of Victoria' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Parliament of Victoria is the bicameral legislature of the Australian state of Victoria. It follows a Westminster-derived parliamentary system and consists of The Queen, represented by the Governor of Victoria; the Legislative Council; and the Legislative Assembly. The Parliament meets at Parliament House in the state capital Melbourne.

The two Houses of Parliament have 128 Members in total, 40 Members of the Legislative Council and 88 Members of the Legislative Assembly.

The Parliament has the power to make laws for Victoria in any matter. This is subject only to limitations placed on it by the Constitution of Australia which specifies which matters fall under the jurisdiction of the Commonwealth.


Prior to 1851 the area of Australia now know as Victoria was part of the colony of New South Wales and was administered by the Government of New South Wales in Sydney. On 5 August 1850 the Parliament of the United Kingdom passed the Australian Constitutions Act 1850 which made provision for the separation of Victoria from New South Wales. Enabling legislation was passed by the Government of New South Wales and Victoria was formally created a separate colony of the on 1 July 1851.

The Australian Constitutions Act provided for the colony to be administered by a Lieutenant-Governor and a Legislative Council, two-thirds of...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from