Patiala and East Punjab States Union

Patiala And East Punjab States Union

Patiala and East Punjab States Union

to get instant updates about 'Patiala And East Punjab States Union' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Patiala and East Punjab States Union (PEPSU) was a state of India from 1948-56. It was created by amalgamating eight Punjab princely states: Patiala, Jind, Nabha, Kapurthala, Faridkot, Kalsia, Malerkotla and Nalagarh. The state was inaugurated on July 15, 1948 and formally became a state of India in 1950. The capital and principal city was Patiala. The state covered an area of 26,208 kmĀ². Kasauli, Kandaghat, Dharampur and Chail also became part of the PEPSU.


When the state was formed, the last Maharaja of Patiala, Yadavindra Singh was appointed its Rajpramukh (equivalent to Governor). He remained in office during the entire length of the state's short existence. The last Maharaja of Kapurthala, Jagatjit Singh served as Uparajpramukh.Gian Singh Rarewala was sworn in on 13 January 1949 as the first Chief Minister of PEPSU. Raghbir Singh became the next Chief Minister on 23 May 1951, and Brish Bhan the Deputy Chief Minister.The state elected a 60-member state legislative assembly on January 6, 1952. The Congress Party won 26 seats and the Akali Dal won 19 seats.On 22 April 1952, Gian Singh Rarewala again became Chief Minister, this time an elected one. He led a coalition government, called the "United Front," formed by the Akali Dal and various independents. On 5 March 1953 his government was dismissed and President's rule was imposed on the state. In...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from