Pel Mel

Pel Mel

Musical Artist
Musical Artist Less

Pel Mel

to get instant updates about 'Pel Mel' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Pel Mel was an Australian post-punk music band. They formed in Newcastle, Australia in mid 1979 and moved to Sydney, Australia in late 1980. They toured and recorded until 1984.

Pel Mel's early lineup included Graeme Dunne (guitar & vocals), Judy McGee (sax), Jane McGee (guitar), Glenn Hill (bass), Dave Weston (drums) and Nigel Savage (sax). By early 1980 Nigel Savage had left, and by late 1980 Lindsay O'Meara (ex-Voigt/465) replaced Glenn Hill on bass. Judy McGee began playing keyboards in 1980 and began sharing vocals with Graeme Dunne. Jane McGee left in February 1981, and Craig Robertson replaced Lindsay O'Meara on bass in late 1981.

Pel Mel's first single, "No Word From China", was released in 1981 on Primate records (re-issued on GAP records), and was followed by the album Out Of Reason.

Pel Mel's second album, Persuasion, was recorded by a new lineup including Graeme Dunne on vocals, bass and guitar, Paul Davies on guitar, Judy McGee on vocals, keyboards and saxophone and Dave Weston on drums.

Acclaimed Australian producer Tony Cohen produced both albums. He later produced albums by notable Australian artists The Birthday Party , Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Hunters & Collectors and The Go-Betweens.

Pel Mel moved from an early punk-influenced sound to a distinctive pop sound, and were a backbone of the thriving inner Sydney music scene in the early 1980s. Other bands associated...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Musical Artist
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from