Penguins Cup

to get instant updates about 'Penguins Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Penguins Cup is a high school ice hockey tournament of over 70 high school ice hockey teams from western Pennsylvania. The tournament is run by the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Hockey League with the finals administered by the National Hockey League's Pittsburgh Penguins franchise. Finals are held in three divisions: A, AA, AAA.

The tournament was held at the Civic/Mellon Arena until it closed in 2010. The tournament determines the regional champions from western Pennsylvania. The winners in each division play the eastern Pennsylvania Flyers Cup champions in the Pennsylvania State High School Ice Hockey Championship. Ice hockey is not administered by the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association as are other high school sports.

List of champions

The Penguins Cup champions have been very successful against the Flyers Cup winners in the state championship Pennsylvania Cup which began in 1981. Between 1993 and 2003, the Penguins Cup champions won 28 of 33 Pennsylvania Cups, including nine consecutive class A titles from 1993 to 2002, and eight consecutive in AA, 1996 to 2003. Penguins Cup champions went on to win all three Pennsylvania Cups in 1989, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2006, and 2011; and in both AA and AAA in 1984 and 1987 before the A division was added in 1989.

In AAA, Meadville Area Senior High School has won the most cups, with eight. The team also won one cup in AA. From 1992 to 1996, Meadville won...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from