Pennsylvania State Senate

Pennsylvania State Senate

Legislature Less

Pennsylvania State Senate

to get instant updates about 'Pennsylvania State Senate' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Pennsylvania State Senate has been meeting since 1791. It is the upper house of the Pennsylvania General Assembly, the Pennsylvania state legislature. The State Senate meets in the State Capitol building in Harrisburg. Senators are elected for four year terms, staggered every two years such that half of the seats are contested at each election.Article II, section 3, Pennsylvania Constitution.Article IV, section 14, Pennsylvania Constitution.

The President of the Senate is the Lieutenant Governor, who has no vote except in the event of an otherwise tie vote. Following the 2010 elections, the Senate consisted of 30 Republicans and 20 Democrats, but Michael O'Pake died shortly after being re-elected, which resulted in a vacancy.

Senate leadership

President of the Senate: Jim Cawley (R)<br />President Pro Tem of the Senate: Joe Scarnati (R)



The Senate is made up of 50 members who are elected by district. As of 2011, the parisan breakdown is 30 Republicans and 20 Democrats. In 2002, a State Senate district had an average population of 245,621...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from