The Penn State University Libraries
consists of 36 libraries at 22 locations in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
. The two main buildings on Penn State's University Park
campus are the Pattee and Paterno libraries.
The library's first permanent location was in Old Main
, with 1,500 books in agriculture and the sciences. In 1904, the library was moved to the Carnegie Building (then "Carnegie Library"), which provided a 50,000 book capacity.
By 1940, the library's collection had grown to 150,000, overcrowding Carnegie by three times its capacity. The library was permanently moved to the Pattee Library building. By the 1960s, the collection had grown to 800,000 books.
The Pattee Library was renovated in the late 1990s, and in 2000, it was rededicated along with the new Paterno Library, a portion of which comprises the former East Wing of Pattee. Today, there are 14 libraries at the University Park campus alone, and the Libraries boast a collection of more than 5.4 million volumes.
Pattee Library is named for Fred Lewis Pattee, regarded as the first professor of American Literature (1895–1928) and author of the Penn State Alma Mater
. Pattee Library was built as part of a Public Works... Read More