Piano Concerto No. 13 (Mozart)

Piano Concerto No. 13 (Mozart)

Piano Concerto No. 13 (Mozart)

to get instant updates about 'Piano Concerto No. 13 (Mozart)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Piano Concerto No. 13 in C major, K. 415 (387b) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was composed in Vienna in 1782–83. It is the third of the first three full concertos Mozart composed for his subscription concerts.

It consists of three movements:

  1. Allegro, in C major and common (C) time
  2. Andante, in F major and 3/4 time
  3. Allegro, in C major and 6/8 time

Instrumentation: Solo — Piano; Orchestra: 2 Oboes, 2 Bassoons + 2 Horns, 2 Trumpets + Timpani + Strings

Assessment and reception

This concerto has long had an ambiguous reputation. The first movement starts with a quiet theme, similar to that of the later C major concerto No. 21, but introduced fugetto. The orchestral introduction builds to an impressive tutti, but many writers, including Hutchings and Girdlestone, have considered that after the entry of the piano this early promise is somewhat dissipated. The piano part itself consists of passages that do not integrate well with the fugetto treatment of the ritornellic material, and, as Hutchings comments, the result is that the "whole is less than the sum of the parts".


  • Girdlestone, C. M. 1997. Mozart's piano concertos. Cassell, London. ISBN 0-304-30043-8
  • Hutchings, A. A Companion to Mozart's Piano Concertos, Oxford University Press. ISBN 0-198-16708-3
  • Mozart, W. A. Piano Concertos Nos. 11-16 in full score. Dover Publications, New York. ISBN 0-486-25468-2

External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from