Politics of the Highland council area

Politics Of The Highland Council Area

Politics of the Highland council area

to get instant updates about 'Politics Of The Highland Council Area' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Politics of the Highland council area in Scotland are evident in the deliberations and decisions of the Highland Council, in elections to the council, and in elections to the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom (Westminster) and the Scottish Parliament (Holyrood). In the European Parliament the area is within the Scotland constituency, which covers all of the 32 council areas of Scotland.

Highland Council

The Highland Council (Comhairle na Gaidhealtachd in Gaelic) represents 22 wards by the single transferable vote system, which creates a form of proportional representation. The total number of councillors is 80, and the main meeting place and main offices are in Glenurquhart Road, InvernessOrdnance Survey grid reference for Highland Council Headquarters, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness: .

Since August 2008, the council has been ruled by a coalition of the Independent Group and Liberal Democrat and Labour parties. This administration was established following the collapse of a ruling coalition of the Independent Group and Scottish National Party (SNP) in June 2008.

The Independent Group, led by Nairn ward councillor Sandy Park, is effectively a...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from