Politics of Toowoomba, Queensland

Politics Of Toowoomba, Queensland

Politics of Toowoomba, Queensland

to get instant updates about 'Politics Of Toowoomba, Queensland' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates


Local government

Toowoomba contains and largely consists of the City of Toowoomba (governed by the Toowoomba City Council), but the last twenty years has seen the rapid growth of satellite towns and an expanding urban fringe in the surrounding largely rural previous separate shires of Crows Nest, Gatton, Cambooya, Rosalie, and Jondaryan. Urbanisation has changed the demographics of these shires significantly and displacing their centres of power to the Toowoomba urban fringe.

Toowoomba councillor Lyle Shelton called for Toowoomba's boundaries to be expanded to encompass the area some refer to as "Greater Toowoomba".

March 2008 saw the Toowoomba City Council replaced by the Toowoomba Regional Council.

Toowoomba City Council

The City of Toowoomba was a local government area in Queensland, approximately 150 km west of Brisbane.

Elections were held every four years (previously every three years) with ballots for the mayoralty and the councillors being held simultaneously. Voting was compulsory for all eligible electors. Councillors were elected from a single pool of candidates by a "First Past the Post" poll, Toowoomba having abandoned the system of wards (electorates).

As with other local governments in Queensland, Toowoomba City Council was bound by the Local Government Act 1993. Under this act and other legislation, the state government had devolved the power to make local laws (previously by-laws) onto Toowoomba City Council.

Toowoomba City...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from