Poonch district, Jammu and Kashmir

Poonch District, Jammu And Kashmir

Indian Jurisdiction
Indian Jurisdiction Less

Poonch district, Jammu and Kashmir

to get instant updates about 'Poonch District, Jammu And Kashmir' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

District Poonch or Punch (Urdu: ضلع پونچ) is one of the remotest districts of Jammu and Kashmir. It is bounded by the Line of Control (boundary between Indian and Pakistan-administered Kashmir) on three sides (north, west and south). The 1947-48 war between India and Pakistan divided it into two parts. One went to Pakistan and the other became part of the Indian state of Jammu & Kashmir.


The District headquarter is situated in the Poonch city. Presently District Poonch in Jammu and Kashmir is divided into four tehsils:

Each tehsil has its Tehsildar, who is the administrative head. The district is further divided into six blocks: Poonch, Mandi, Mendhar, Balakote, Surankote and Buffliaz. The administrative head of each block is the Block Development Officer (BDO). Each block consists of a number of panchayats.


The Muslims of lower areas of Poonch i.e. Bagh and Rawalakot always resented the oppressive policies of the Dogra Maharaja of Jammu, after he took charge of Poonch in 1936. At the time of partition, there were rumours that Muslims were being massacred in Jammu. It enraged the Poonchies and they intensified the struggle for independence from Jammu. A major part of the district went to Azad Kashmir. During the 1947-48 war between India and Pakistan, Poonch city was under attack of tribals from Pakistan and the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Jurisdiction
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from