Portuguese Second Division

Portuguese Second Division

Football League
Football League Less

Portuguese Second Division

to get instant updates about 'Portuguese Second Division' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Portuguese Second Division (Portuguese: Segunda Divisão Portuguesa) is a football league in Portugal, situated at the third level of the Portuguese football league system. The division was previously at the second level of the Portuguese pyramid but with the creation of the Liga de Honra in 1990–91, it became the third level.


Initially, the competition was divided into two zones (Northern and Southern), with the title being decided between the two champions of each zone. Eventually, a new Central Zone was added and the winners of three series would win promotion to top level and would dispute a mini-tournament for the title of Second Division Champion. In most years a similar mini-tournament called Liguilha with the runners-up of each series and the fourth worst placed of the First Division would contest the remaining place at the higher level. From the 1999–00 to the 2004–05 seasons, no final league was played with the three champions of each zone becoming co-champions. In 2005–06 the division was split into four geographical zones (series A, B, C and D), where the winner of each league would compete in a four-team elimination tournament, with the two finalists being promoted to the Liga de Honra. This was reverted back to the old system of the northern, central and southern zones in 2009–10.

Portuguese Second Division clubs (2010–11)

List of champions

Performance By Club

Note: Years in italics indicate that the...... ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Football League
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from