President of the Indian National Congress

President Of The Indian National Congress

President of the Indian National Congress

to get instant updates about 'President Of The Indian National Congress' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The President of the All India Congress Committee, and therefore of the Indian National Congress Party (INC) as a whole, is known as the Congress President.


Traditionally, the post rotated between prominent members of the party, successive terms for the same person being frowned upon. During Nehru's premiership, he rarely held the Presidency of INC, even though he was always head of the Legislative Party.

Indira Gandhi however, institutionalised the practice of having the same person as the President as the Prime Minister after the first Congress split of 1969. Her son Rajiv Gandhi continued that practice. He was the INC President and the Prime Minister.

Narasimha Rao, too held both the Congress President and the Prime Minister's post. Sitaram Kesri held the post after INC was voted out. But as the INC never returned to power under his leadership, he didn't hold the two posts together.

In 2004, when the INC was voted back Dr Manmohan Singh became the first INC Prime Minister, not to be the INC President since the practice began. Sonia Gandhi is the current Congress President, but not Prime Minister.

List of presidents of the party

External links

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from