Principality of Bulgaria

Principality Of Bulgaria

Former Country
Former Country Less

Principality of Bulgaria

to get instant updates about 'Principality Of Bulgaria' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Principality of Bulgaria () was a self-governing entity created as a vassal of the Ottoman Empire by the Treaty of Berlin in 1878. The preliminary treaty of San Stefano between the Russian Empire and the Porte (the Ottoman government), on March 3, had originally proposed a significantly larger Bulgarian territory: its lands encompassed nearly all ethnic Bulgarians in the Balkans, and they stretched to include coastline on both the Black Sea, and the Aegean Sea on the Mediterranean. The United Kingdom feared the establishment of a large Russian client state in the Balkans which might have tipped influential balance on matters concerning the Mediterranean. As such, the other great powers were not willing to accede and the result was a significantly smaller suzerain principality. The Treaty of Berlin also provided for Eastern Rumelia, as an autonomous province within the Ottoman Empire alongside Bulgaria. By 1885 however, it had become part of the Bulgarian Principality.

Bulgaria's de facto control of its principality and the surrounding region made it a successor of the Second Bulgarian Empire. On 22 September 1908 Bulgaria beacame completely free from the Ottoman rule and officially declared independence, elevating the principality to the Kingdom of Bulgaria. The Bulgarian state after the Liberation is usually referred to as the Third Bulgarian State.


Bulgaria lost its independence in 1396 in the Bulgarian-Ottoman Wars after the...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Country
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from