Province of Genoa

Province Of Genoa

Province Less

Province of Genoa

to get instant updates about 'Province Of Genoa' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Province of Genoa (It. Provincia di Genova) is a province in the Liguria region of Italy. Its capital is the city of Genoa.

It has an area of 1,838 km², and a total population of about 900,000 (2009). There are 67 communes in the province (source: Italian institute of statistics Istat, see ).

Named after a mythical two-headed Greek God, Janus, protector of ships. The name derives from a Ligurian tribal word, for "knee" (genu), or the Latin name for gate, "janua".

The city is set at the foot of mountains in the Gulf of Genoa at the most northerly end of the Tyrrhenian Sea, where at one time it ruled the maritime world.

The Old Quarter of Genoa, is especially breathtaking for those who like to explore. It is best to travel slowly, on foot through the narrow streets which are meticulously kept, as are the expensive mansions of medieval merchants which line them. Around the Palazzo Reale, many shops sell Turkish carpets and the best of silk - an eloquent testimony of Genoa's past links with Asia.

Genoa has fine examples of Roman and Baroque Church architecture. The Palazzo Ducale is another regal structure, now used for exhibitions, and if you are lucky to arrive at the right time, the occasional outside concert as well.).

See also

External links

Genova SéngProvinsia de GenovaProvinsa de Zenaضلع جنوآProvincia ëd GénoaJenua Province of GenoaProvinge de GenovaProvincia de GenoaGenova
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from