Province of Hanover

Province Of Hanover

Former Subdivision
Former Subdivision Less

Province of Hanover

to get instant updates about 'Province Of Hanover' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Province of Hanover () was a province of the Kingdom of Prussia and the Free State of Prussia from 1868 to 1946.

During the Austro-Prussian War, the Kingdom of Hanover had attempted to maintain a neutral position, along with some other member states of the German Confederation. After Hanover voted in favour of mobilising confederation troops against Prussia on 14 June 1866, Prussia saw this as a just cause for declaring war; the Kingdom of Hanover was soon dissolved and annexed by Prussia. The private wealth of the dethroned House of Hanover was then used by Otto von Bismarck to finance his continuing efforts against Ludwig II of Bavaria.

In 1946, the British military administration recreated the Land of Hanover based on the former Kingdom of Hanover; but within the year, at the instigation of the German leadership, it was merged into the new Bundesland of Lower Saxony - along with the states of Oldenburg, Brunswick, and Schaumburg-Lippe – with the city of Hanover as the capital of this new state.

Hanoveran regions

Hanover was subdivided into six regions first called Landdrostei (High-Bailiwick), which were reorganised into Prussian standard Regierungsbezirke (governorates) on 1 April 1885.1) Aurich<br>2) Osnabrück<br>3) Stade<br>4) Lüneburg (Lunenburg)<br>5) Hildesheim<br>6) Hanover

Presidents of the Province of Hanover

The heads of the provinces, appointed by the central Prussian government, were called Oberpräsident (Upper...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Subdivision
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from