Province of Siena

Province Of Siena

Province Less

Province of Siena

to get instant updates about 'Province Of Siena' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Province of Siena () is a province in the Tuscany region of Italy. Its capital is the city of Siena.

It has an area of 3,821 km² (1475 mile²), and a total population of 252,288 (2001). There are 36 comuni (singular: comune) in the province. At June 30, 2005, the main comuni by population are:

The province is divided into seven historical areas:
  1. Alta Val d'Elsa
  2. Chianti senese
  3. The urban area of (Monteriggioni and Siena)
  4. Val di Merse
  5. Crete senesi Val d'Arbia
  6. Val di Chiana senese
  7. Val d'Orcia and Amiata

The area is a hilly one: in the north is Monte del Chianti; Monte Amiata is the highest point at 1738 m; and in the south is Monte Cetona. To the west are the Colline Metallifere (“Metallic Hills”),<!-- ? --> whilst the Val di Chiana lies to east.

Historically, the province corresponds to the former republic of Siena.

The chief occupations are agricultural (wheat, grapes and fruit) and silk culture. The wine known as Chianti is produced here as well as in other parts of Tuscany: the Chianti Colli Senesi, however, is limited to this province.

Apart from the city of Siena the principal towns are Poggibonsi, Colle di Val d'Elsa, Montepulciano, Chiusi, and San Gimignano.

External links

Siena SéngProvincia nin SienaProvinsia de Sienaضلع سیناProvincia ëd Sien-aProvince of SienaProvincia de SienaSiena
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from