Provinces of Flanders

Provinces Of Flanders

Provinces of Flanders

to get instant updates about 'Provinces Of Flanders' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Fleming live mainly in the Flemish Region (covering 13,522 kmĀ² and containing over 300 municipalities) and in the Brussels-Capital Region. Flanders is divided into 5 provinces that form the Flemish Region (as defined in the Belgian constitution). In Brussels, the Flemings have their own community institutions (alongside French-speaking ones).

The five provinces of the Flemish region:<br clear="all" />When the former province of Brabant was split, the regional institutions of the Brussels capital region also acquired 99% of the provincial competencies in the area. One says that the Brussels region falls outside the provinces. The remaining provincial institutions are limited to a governor and a deputy-governor.

In Brussels, the Flemish government is also responsible for all community-legal matters (e.g. education and culture in Dutch). The Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie (VGC) is the Flemish council in the Brussels-Capital Region for these matters. The VGC therefore acts as an intermediary administration level, parallel to the administrations of the 5 provinces, but very different in nature.

See also

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from