Provinces of the Democratic Republic of the Congo

Provinces Of The Democratic Republic Of The Congo

Provinces of the Democratic Republic of the Congo

to get instant updates about 'Provinces Of The Democratic Republic Of The Congo' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

There are currently ten provinces and one city-province in the Democratic Republic of the Congo:

  1. Bandundu
  2. Bas-Congo
  3. Équateur
  4. Kasai-Occidental
  5. Kasai-Oriental
  6. Katanga
  7. Kinshasa (city-province)
  8. Maniema
  9. Nord-Kivu
  10. Orientale
  11. Sud-Kivu
  12. An Ituri Interim Administration also exists in the Ituri region of Orientale Province

Formally proposed provinces

Article 2 which came into effect on 18 February 2006, specifies twenty-five new provinces while retaining the capital city/province of Kinshasa. This new territorial organization was scheduled to take effect within thirty-six months of the new constitution's promulgation. It did not.

As of early October 2010, an Alliance of the Presidential Majority meeting brought up the issue of constitutional revision. According to Kinshasa newspapers, they recommended 8 articles of the current constitution for revision, including Article 226, which calls for the creation of 26 provinces out of the current 11 (Kinshasa + 10) within 36 months of the installation of the elected institutions. The AMP meeting only wanted to change the deadline for doing so (the last one lapsed in May 2010).

Technically if the constitution had been implemented strictly in accordance with the agreements, the provinces listed below would have come into effect in...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from