is situated at the foot of the picturesque Stormberg Mountains in the pleasant Eastern Cape town of Queenstown. Established in 1858, it is the oldest school on the Border - a region famous for its fine schools. Close to its excellent "family" schools, Queen's College Boys' Primary, Queenstown Girls' High and Balmoral Girls' Primary, Queen's College offers boys a unique opportunity to realise their full potential in a healthy, caring, Christian environment in which educational excellence, tradition, loyalty, pride, leadership development, and the highest standards of discipline are emphasized. The overall educational development of the Queenian is achieved within a milieu of progressive thinking that ensures that the College moves with the times and makes the most of technological advances.
Mr. CE Ham set up a private school for boys, the Prospect House Academy. In 1858 it was taken over by the state as the Queenstown District School. That year is taken as the foundation date for Queen's College. Today, all that remains of Mr. Ham's original school is the lectern on the stage of the Memorial Hall (the present school hall). It was made out of a yellow wood beam salvaged from the old school building when it was demolished in 1949.
In 1867 Frederick Beswick opened a private school in the town and then the principal of a conglomerate of schools called Queenstown Boys' Public School, whose headmaster he remained for 32 years. He... Read More