Queen's Gallantry Medal

Queen's Gallantry Medal

Military Award
Military Award Less

Queen's Gallantry Medal

to get instant updates about 'Queen's Gallantry Medal' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Queen's Gallantry Medal (QGM) is the third level civil decoration of the United Kingdom and Commonwealth.Although certain Commonwealth Realms have now instituted their own indigenous honours systems, replacing the QGM and other Commonwealth awards so far as their citizens are concerned.

It was instituted on 20 June 1974 to replace the Order of the British Empire for Gallantry, the British Empire Medal for Gallantry, and the Colonial Police Medal for Gallantry. It therefore ended the rather strange situation whereby the Order of the British Empire for Gallantry was awarded for lesser acts of bravery than the George Medal, but took precedence over it in order of wear and postnominal letters. From 30 November 1977, it has also been awarded posthumously, and thus from that date it also replaced the Queen's Police Medal for Gallantry.

The medal is awarded for "exemplary acts of bravery", and is primarily a civilian medal, although military personnel can receive it too. Recipients may use the post nominal letters "QGM". Fewer than 600 have been awarded.


  • The QGM is silver and circular in shape, 36 mm in diameter. The obverse of the medal shows the crowned effigy of the monarch.
  • The reverse bears the image of a St. Edward's Crown above the words 'The Queen's Gallantry Medal' in four lines, flanked by laurel sprigs.
  • The ribbon is of three equal stripes of dark blue, pearl grey and dark......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Military Award
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from