Queen's Police Medal

Queen's Police Medal

Military Award
Military Award Less

Queen's Police Medal

to get instant updates about 'Queen's Police Medal' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Queen's Police Medal (QPM) is awarded to police officers in the United Kingdom and Commonwealth for gallantry or distinguished service. Recipients may use the post-nominal letters "QPM", although the right to use these was only granted officially on 20 July 1969. It was created on 19 May 1954, when it replaced the King's Police and Fire Services Medal (KPFSM), which itself replaced the King's Police Medal (KPM) in 1940. The KPM was introduced by a Royal Warrant of 7 July 1909, initially inspired by the need to recognise the gallantry of the police officers involved in the Tottenham Outrage.


King's Police Medal

The original KPM, despite its name, could also be awarded to members of recognised fire brigades. It was originally intended that the medal should be awarded once a year, to no more than 120 recipients, with a maximum of: 40 from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland and Crown Dependencies; 30 from the dominions; and 50 from the Empire of India. More could be awarded in exceptional circumstances. The ribbon was to be "an inch and three eighths in width, dark blue with a narrow silver stripe-on eitherside" those who received further awards of the medal were to wear a silver bar on the ribbon in lieu of a further issue of the medal, or a rosette where the ribbon alone was worn. Initially recipients were...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Military Award
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from