Queen's University of Ireland

Queen's University Of Ireland


Queen's University of Ireland

to get instant updates about 'Queen's University Of Ireland' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Queen's University of Ireland was established formally by Royal Charter on 3 September 1850, as the degree-awarding university of the Queen's Colleges of Belfast, Cork, and Galway that were established in 1845 "to afford a university education to members of all religious denominations" in Ireland.

The university system itself was replaced by the Royal University of Ireland in 1880, which in turn was replaced by Queen's University Belfast, with the Cork and Galway colleges forming the National University of Ireland, along with University College Dublin.

The three Queen's colleges are now known as


The Queen's Colleges (Ireland) Act 1845 (An Act to enable Her Majesty to endow new Colleges for the Advancement of Learning in Ireland) established the colleges with the intention that they would provide for Roman Catholic demands for university education, since Catholics did not generally attend Trinity College Dublin at that time, though there were no legal restrictions preventing them.

Nevertheless, at the prompting of Protestant interests the colleges were not permitted to give instruction in theology. The result was that the colleges became derided as the "godless colleges" — Pope Pius IX even went as far as saying they were "detrimental to religion" in an official condemnation — and this non-acceptance was articulated in the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from