Raichur Thermal Power Station

Raichur Thermal Power Station

Raichur Thermal Power Station

to get instant updates about 'Raichur Thermal Power Station' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Raichur Thermal Power Station (RTPS) is a coal-fired electric power station located at in the Raichur district of the state of Karnataka, India. It is operated by the Karnataka Power Corporation Limited (KPCL) and was the first thermal power plant to be set up in the state. The power station was commissioned during various periods from 1985 and it accounts for about 40% of the total electricity generated in Karnataka.


The project to construct the thermal power station was finalized in 1978 after an MOU was signed between KPCL and the Karnataka State Electricity Board. TCE Consulting Engineers Ltd., a Tata Group company was appointed as the consultants for the project. The project involved two stages: Stage I, in which Units 1 and 2 were expected to be installed and Stage II, Units 3 and 4. Each unit was expected to have an installed capacity of 210 MW. An area of 300 hectares was allocated for the units. Unit I of the plant was completed in March 1985, with Unit II following in March 1986.

The construction of Unit III was started in 1986 and completed in March 1991 and the Unit IV was started in 1989 and completed in September 1994, thereby completing the Stage II. The total cost of Stage I of the project was Rs. 4,030,000,000 and of the Stage II...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from