Railway Board (India)

Railway Board (India)

Railway Board (India)

to get instant updates about 'Railway Board (India)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Indian Railway Board is the apex body of the Indian Railways. It reports to the Indian Ministry of Railways.

Current members

It currently has the following members:
  • Chairman Railway Board: Vinay Mittal
  • Member mechanical: s Handa
  • Member Engineering: A. P. Mishra
  • Member Electrical:
  • Member Staff:
  • Member Traffic: Vinay Mittal
  • Finance Commissioner: Pompa Babbar


British Raj

The first Railway Board in India was appointed by Lord Curzon's government in 1905. It consisted a Government Railway official, who was the Chairman of the Board, a Railway Manager from England and an Agent of a Company Railway. The Board was placed under the Department of Commerce and Industry of the British Indian Government. In 1922, a reorganisation of the Railway Board was carried out. A Chief Commissioner of Railways was appointed, who was solely responsible to the Government for decisions on technical matters and for advising the Government on matters of policy. The Railway Board was reconstituted with effect from 1 April 1924. The reconstituted board comprised the Chief Commissioner, A Financial Commissioner and two Members, one responsible for Way and Works, Projects and Stores and the other for General Administration, Staff and Traffic subjects. In 1929, an additional post of a Member was created and he was placed in charge of Staff matters, so that the Member in charge of Traffic can concentrate fully in transportation and commercial matters. During this time, Frank D'Souza...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from