Rajouri district

to get instant updates about 'Rajouri District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Rajouri(ضلع راجوری, राजौरी जिला) is a district of Jammu province in the Indian administered kashmir. Being close to the control line, it borders with Ponch/ Kotli to the north and Mirpur to the (south) west. Mirpur and Kotli are the districts of the Pakistani administered Kashmir. The District comprises 6 Tehsils (boroughs) namely Rajouri, Nowshera, Sunderbani, Kalakote, Koteranka and Thannamandi and 7 Blocks of Rajouri, Manjakote, Darhal, Budhal, Kalakote, Sunderbani and Nowshera. The land is mostly fertile and hence the colourful scenery of the mountainous landscapes is breathtaking especially when spring sets in. Maize and rice are the main crops of the area and the main source of the irrigation is the river Tawi that originates from the mountains of Pir Panjaal.Though Urdu and English are the main mediums of instruction, the other dialects such as Gojri, Pahari and Dogri are much spoken at the informal level. Gojri is mainly spoken by Gujjar/Bakarwal tribes who are known for herding goats, sheep and horses. However, the fine line between Gujjar and Bakarwal tribes is that the former are farmers as they own land while the latter are nomads who herd cattle. The population is officially divided along the religious lines – though religiously diverse masses normally live in peace and harmony. The total population therefore, in accordance with the 2001 census, is 60% Muslim, 37% Hindu, 2% Sikhs and others. However, the likelihood of the presence...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from