Rajsamand district

Rajsamand District

Indian Jurisdiction
Indian Jurisdiction Less

Rajsamand district

to get instant updates about 'Rajsamand District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Rajsamand District is a district of the state of Rajasthan in western India.

The town of Rajsamand is the district headquarters. The city and district are named for Rajsamand Lake, an artificial lake created in the 17th century by Rana Raj Singh of Mewar. The district had been constituted on 10 April 1991 from Udaipur district.

Demographics and Geography

The district has a population of 9,87,024 (2001 census), an increase of 19.88% from the 1991 census. The district has an area of 4,768 kmĀ². The Aravalli Range forms the northwestern boundary of the district, across which lies Pali District. Ajmer District lies to the north, Bhilwara District to the northeast and east, Chittorgarh District to the southeast, and Udaipur District to the south. The district lies in the watershed of the Banas River and its tributaries. Some other rivers are: Ari, Gomati, Chandra and Bhoga.

Administrative Set-up

There are 4 Sub-divisions, 7 tehsils and 7 blocks. There are 1025 villages under 206 Gram Panchayats and 237 Patwar Circles. Seven tehsils are Amet, Bhim, Deogarh, Kumbhalgarh, Nathdwara, Railmagra and Rajsamand. Kankroli, Nathdwara, Amet and Deogarh are municipalities, while some other major towns are Bhim, Railmagra, Kelwara, Kelwa, Rajnagar and Charbhuja.

Historic Places

Rajsamand District is part of the Mewar region, and was historically part of the Kingdom of Mewar, also known as the Kingdom of Udaipur. The District has a...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Jurisdiction
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from