Ranji Trophy

Ranji Trophy

Cricket Tournament Main
Cricket Tournament Main Less

Ranji Trophy

to get instant updates about 'Ranji Trophy' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Ranji Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket championship played in India between different city and state sides, equivalent to the County Championship in England and the Sheffield Shield in Australia. The competition is named after Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji (Jam Sahib of Nawanagar, also known as "Ranji").


The competition was launched as "The Cricket Championship of India" following a meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India in July 1934, with the first fixtures taking place in 1934–35. The trophy was donated by Maharaja Bhupinder Singh of Patiala. The first Ranji Trophy Championship was won by Bombay after they defeated North India in the final. Syed Mohammed Hadi of Hyderabad was the first batsman to score a hundred.

Mumbai (formerly Bombay) have been the dominant team in the Championship so far, with 39 wins, including 15 back-to-back wins from 1958–59 to 1972–73.


Most of the teams playing in the Ranji Trophy represent states of India; there are also two teams that represent individual cities (Mumbai and Hyderabad) and two teams based in Delhi but with no regional affiliations (Railways and Services).

From its inception until the 2001-02 season, the teams were grouped geographically into four or five zones – North, West, East, and South, with Central added in 1952-53. Initial matches were played within the zones on a knock-out basis until 1956-57, and thereafter on a league basis, to determine a winner. Then,...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Cricket Tournament Main
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from