Ravi River

Ravi River


Ravi River

to get instant updates about 'Ravi River' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Ravi (, , , ) is a trans-boundary river flowing through Northwestern India and Northeastern Pakistan. It is one of the six rivers of the Indus System in Punjab region (name of Punjab means "Five Rivers").

After the partition of India in August 1947, the waters of the Ravi River, along with five other rivers of the Indus system (Beas, Sutlej, Chenab, Jhelum and Indus), divided India and Pakistan under the Indus Water Treaty, which was facilitated by the World Bank. Subsequently, Indus Basin Project has been developed in Pakistan and many Inter Basin Water Transfers, Irrigation, Hydropower and multipurpose projects have been built in India.


According to ancient history traced to Vedas, the Ravi River was known as Iravati (also spelt Airavati). Another Vedic name was Purushni.

Part of the battle of the ten kings was fought on the Parushni River, which according to Yaska (Nirukta 9.26) refers to the Iravati River (Ravi River) in the Punjab.


The Ravi River, a trans-boundary river of India and Pakistan, is an integral part of the Indus River Basin and forms the headwaters of the Indus basin. The waters of the Ravi River drain in to the Indian Ocean through the Indus River in Pakistan. The river rises in the Rohtang Pass near Kullu in Himachal Pradesh, India. The river drains a total catchment area of in India after flowing for a length of . Flowing westward, it is...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from