Regions of Johannesburg

Regions Of Johannesburg

Regions of Johannesburg

to get instant updates about 'Regions Of Johannesburg' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The administration of Johannesburg was decentralised into 11 regions following the creation of the post-apartheid City of Johannesburg Metropolitan Municipality in 2000. Each region is operationally responsible for the delivery of health care, housing, sports and recreation, libraries, social development, and other local community-based services.

Each region has a People's Centre where any city-related transaction can be dealt with. Residents can lodge complaints, report service problems, and perform council-related business more quickly.

In 2006, the number of regions was consolidated, from eleven, to seven .

Changes to the previous city structure

After the end of apartheid allowed the consideration of the entire city of Johannesburg as one without consideration of race, it was determined that the previous structure of the city was wasteful and that there was much duplication of functions. Furthermore, some suburbs were affluent with well-established amenities while neighbouring areas lacked even the most basic of services. The new regions are now smaller than previous mega-suburbs with each being home to about 300,000 people. The idea is that smaller regions will be able to stay in closer contact with local communities.


The regions are no longer seen as part of the core administration, but instead take on a role as contractors to the central government. The relationship is similar to that of the larger utilities and agencies, such as City Power, and is...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from