Republic of Ireland – United Kingdom border

Republic Of Ireland – United Kingdom Border

Republic of Ireland – United Kingdom border

to get instant updates about 'Republic Of Ireland – United Kingdom Border' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Republic of Ireland – United Kingdom border is the boundary between the sovereign states of Ireland and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. It is also referred to as the Irish border () or – on the island of Ireland – simply as the border (an teorainn).

The border runs for a total of 360 kilometres (224 miles) from Lough Foyle in the north-west of the island to Carlingford Lough in the north-east (on the Irish Sea). The only international land border in Ireland, it is inconspicuous and open by world standards, in common with many international borders in the European Union. While both states are outside the European Union's Schengen Area, they do share the Common Travel Area, resulting in an essentially open border. Much of the border runs along the eastern edge of County Donegal.

Establishment: secession and partition

Originally intended as an internal frontier within the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, the border was created in 1921 under the United Kingdom Parliament's Government of Ireland Act 1920.The island of Ireland was partitioned into two distinct regions of the United Kingdom, by Order in Council on 3 May 1921 (Statutory Rules & Orders published by authority (SR&O) 1921, No. 533). This legislated for Home Rule in Ireland, with separate parliaments for Southern Ireland and what became Northern Ireland. Six of the thirty-two counties of Ireland were assigned to...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from