Republics in the Commonwealth of Nations

Republics In The Commonwealth Of Nations

Republics in the Commonwealth of Nations

to get instant updates about 'Republics In The Commonwealth Of Nations' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

A republic in the Commonwealth of Nations is any one of the 33 sovereign states of the Commonwealth of Nations (including Fiji whose membership is currently suspended) with a republican form of government. Though they are nearly all former British possessions, in contrast to the 16 Commonwealth realms they do not have Elizabeth II or 5 other Commonwealth members that have their own monarch as their Head of state. Elizabeth II is still the titular Head of the Commonwealth in a personal capacity, but this role does not carry with it any power, but acts as a symbol of the free association of Commonwealth members.

Thirty of the republics are former British (or partly British) self-governing colonies, that have evolved into republics by various means. In most cases, the countries achieved independence as Commonwealth realms, and later became republics within the Commonwealth. In some instances, the countries became republics after achieving independence from other former British colonies (as Bangladesh did from Pakistan in 1971). The latest country to become a republic within the Commonwealth was Mauritius in 1992. The only members not to have been a British colony or protectorate are Mozambique, which was a Portuguese colony, and Rwanda, a former Belgian trust territory that had been a German colony.


Republics have been allowed as members of the Commonwealth since 1949, following the London Declaration made on 28 April...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from