Rhode Island House of Representatives

Rhode Island House Of Representatives


Rhode Island House of Representatives

to get instant updates about 'Rhode Island House Of Representatives' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Rhode Island House of Representatives is the lower house of the Rhode Island General Assembly, the state legislature of the U.S. State of Rhode Island. It is composed of 75 members, elected to two year terms from 75 districts of equal population. The Rhode Island General Assembly does not have term limits. The House meets at the Rhode Island State Capitol in Providence.

Leadership of the House

The Speaker of the House presides over the House of Representatives. The Speaker is elected by the majority party caucus followed by confirmation of the full House through the passage of a House Resolution. As well as presiding over the body, the Speaker is also the chief leadership position, and controls the flow of legislation. Other House leaders, such as the majority and minority leaders, are elected by their respective party caucuses relative to their party's strength in the chamber.

The current Speaker of the House is Democrat Gordon D. Fox of District 4 (Providence). The Majority Leader is Nicholas Mattiello of Cranston. The Republican Minority Leader is Brian Newberry of District 48 (North Smithfield).



Members of the Rhode Island House of Representatives

This list is of members elected in November 2010, to serve in the 2011–12 biennium. Three Republicans have split from the Republican caucus due to a dispute over their leadership.

See also

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from