Ribatejo Province

Ribatejo Province

Ribatejo Province

to get instant updates about 'Ribatejo Province' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Ribatejo () is the most central of the traditional provinces of Portugal, with no coastline or border with Spain. The region is crossed by the Tagus River (Ribatejo translates to "shores of Tagus"). The region contains some of the nation's richest agricultural land, and it produces most of the animals used in the Portuguese style of bullfighting.

Ribatejo Province was formally created in 1936. It contained Abrantes, Alcanena, Almeirim, Alpiarça, Azambuja, Benavente, Cartaxo, Chamusca, Constância, Coruche, Golegã, Salvaterra de Magos, Santarém, Tomar, Torres Novas, Vila Franca de Xira and Vila Nova da Barquinha. The largest towns were Santarém and Tomar.

In 1976 the Ribatejo Province was dissolved. Most of the area was incorporated into the Santarém District. Later it...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from