Rise (Anoushka Shankar album)

Rise (Anoushka Shankar Album)

Album Less

Rise (Anoushka Shankar album)

to get instant updates about 'Rise (Anoushka Shankar Album)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates


Rise is an album by Anoushka Shankar released on September 27, 2005. The album was chosen as one of Amazon.com's Top 100 Editor's Picks of 2005 (#82). On previous recordings, Anoushka Shankar had followed in the footsteps of her father, Ravi Shankar, by performing relatively traditional, raga-based music. Rise, by contrast, incorporated jazz, pop, and pan-ethnic world music textures in an unpredictable melange. At the center of it all are Shankar's sitar expertise and traditional Indian roots.

Track listing

All songs by Anoushka Shankar except where noted.
  1. "Prayer in Passing" – 6:20
  2. "Red Sun" – 4:50
  3. "Mahadeva" – 5:42
  4. "Naked" – 4:16
  5. "Solea" (Shankar/Pedro Ricardo) – 7:26
  6. "Beloved" – 7:05
  7. "Sinister Grains" – 6:10
  8. "Voice of the Moon" – 8:54
  9. "Ancient Love" – 11:06


  1. Anoushka Shankar: Sitar, keyboards, vocals
  2. Vishwa Mohan Bhatt: Veena
  3. Barry Phillips: Cello
  4. Pedro Eustache: Bansuri, duduk
  5. Ajay Prasanna: Bansuri
  6. Pedro Ricardo Mino: Piano
  7. Pulak Sarcar: Keyboards
  8. Kevin Cooper: Bass guitar
  9. Jesse Charnow: Drums and percussion
  10. Tanmoy Bose: Djembe, tabla
  11. Sanjeev Chimmalgi: Backing vocals
  12. Ritesh Mishra: Backing vocals
  13. Rajneesh Mishra: Backing vocals

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from