Rohtas district

to get instant updates about 'Rohtas District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Rohtas district is one of the thirty-eight districts of Bihar state, India.

Headquarters: SasaramArea: 3850 km²Population: 2,448,762 (2001 census)Sub Divisions: Sasaram, Dehri, BikramganjBlocks: Nauhatta, Chenari, Nasriganj, Rohtas, Shivsagar, Dawath, Karakat, Nokha., Vikramganj, Kargahar, Sasaram, Dihri, Dinara, Kochas, Akorhigola, Rajpur, Tilauthu, Suryapura, Sanjhauli.Agriculture: Paddy, Wheat, LentilsIndustry: CementRivers: Son, Kaw

The Rohtas district is a part of Patna Division, and it has an area of 3850 km² (square kilometres), a population of 2,448,762 (2001 census), and a population density of 636 persons per km². The language spoken in this area is Bhojpuri.

The administrative headquarters of the district, Sasaram is a place of historical importance. Another important symbol of national pride are the parallel bridges built over the Sone River - one for road and another for railway. The road bridge (Jawahar Setu built by Gammon India in 1963-65) over Sone was the longest (3061 m) in Asia until it was surpassed by the Mahatma Gandhi setu (5475 m) over the river Ganges at Patna. Nehru Setu, the railway bridge is the second longest railway bridge in India.The district is also home to the Rohtasgarh fort, which was one of the strongest forts in the medieval age.

Geography and climate

The district has a variety of landscapes within a small area, with flat plains running alongside the Kaimur Range and Rohtas Plateau. The majority of the land is a......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from