Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Newark

Roman Catholic Archdiocese Of Newark

Diocese Less

Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Newark

to get instant updates about 'Roman Catholic Archdiocese Of Newark' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Archdiocese of Newark is an archdiocese of the Catholic Church in northern New Jersey, United States. Its ecclesiastic territory includes all of the Catholic parishes and schools in the New Jersey counties of Bergen, Union, Hudson and Essex (where the city of Newark is located).


Originally established as the Diocese of Newark in 1853 by Pope Pius IX, it was elevated to Archdiocese in 1937 by Pope Pius XI.

The Archbishop of Newark presides from the Cathedral Basilica of the Sacred Heart in Newark.

The Archdiocese is currently led by Archbishop John J. Myers. Myers is metropolitan for all of the New Jersey dioceses, the others of which are the Diocese of Camden, the Diocese of Metuchen, the Diocese of Paterson and the Diocese of Trenton.

Bishops & Archbishops of Newark (terms of service)

  1. † Bishop James Roosevelt Bayley (1853–1872) (appointed Archbishop of Baltimore)
  2. † Bishop Michael Augustine Corrigan (1873–1880) (appointed coadjutor Archbishop of New......
  3. ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from