Roman Catholic Diocese of Aachen

Roman Catholic Diocese Of Aachen

Diocese Less

Roman Catholic Diocese of Aachen

to get instant updates about 'Roman Catholic Diocese Of Aachen' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Diocese of Aachen is one of 22 dioceses in Germany. It is also one of 7 dioceses that has a population that is in majority Catholic, in this case 57.6 %. The weekly attendance rate at mass in the Diocese of Aachen is 11.5% of the Catholics in the diocese.


The diocese is located in the west of Germany, extending from the town Krefeld in the north till mountainous area of the Eifel to the south. Neighboring dioceses are Cologne, Münster, Essen and Trier in Germany, Liège in Belgium and Roermond of the Netherlands.

The diocese is subdivided into 7 regions, which are in turn further subdivided into 538 parishes.
  1. Region Aachen-Stadt (Aachen city)
  2. Region Düren
  3. Region Eifel
  4. Region Heinsberg
  5. Region Kempen Viersen
  6. Region Krefeld
  7. Region Mönchengladbach


The bishop of Aachen is Heinrich Mussinghoff who was ordained as bishop on 11 February 1995. He is assisted by two auxiliary bishops, Johannes Bündgens and Karl Borsch. Furthermore, there are two emeritus auxiliary bishops, Gerd Dicke and Karl Reger.

The vicar general is Manfred von Holtum, who was appointed to the post on October 1 1997.


Historically the city of Aachen belonged to the Diocese of Liège, divided by the Archdiocese of Cologne by the Wurm River.

The diocese was first created in 1802, covering the area west of the Rhine formerly belonging to Cologne, as well as parts from the dioceses Liege, Utrecht, Roermond and Mainz. After the first bishop Marc Antoine Berdolet died...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from