Roman Catholic Diocese of Bridgeport

Roman Catholic Diocese Of Bridgeport

Diocese Less

Roman Catholic Diocese of Bridgeport

to get instant updates about 'Roman Catholic Diocese Of Bridgeport' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Bridgeport is located in the south western part of the state of Connecticut, and its boundaries are the same as that of Fairfield County, Connecticut. There are 87 parishes in the diocese. Its cathedral is St. Augustine in Bridgeport.

The current bishop is The Most Reverend William E. Lori, appointed March 19, 2001.

The diocese, is one of 195 Roman Catholic dioceses in the United States. It is one of four dioceses in the Ecclesiastical Province of Hartford—the others are the Archdiocese of Hartford, the Diocese of Norwich and the Diocese of Providence.

The church with the greatest capacity in the diocese is St. Mary's Church on Elm Stamford, built in 1928.

Sacred Heart in Georgetown is where Catholic writers Flannery O'Connor and Robert Fitzgerald worshipped in 1949-1952 when O'Connor was living in Ridgefield as a boarder with the Fitzgeralds. ("The working day as we set it up that fall began with early Mass in Georgetown, four miles away," Fitzgerald wrote.)


The diocese has more than 363,000 registered Catholics in Fairfield County, 43 percent of the total population.

Other statistics: "At...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from