Roman Catholic Diocese of Dallas

Roman Catholic Diocese Of Dallas

Diocese Less

Roman Catholic Diocese of Dallas

to get instant updates about 'Roman Catholic Diocese Of Dallas' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Dallas () is a Roman Catholic diocese in Texas. It was founded on July 15, 1890 by Pope Leo XIII. The diocese's cathedral is the Cathedral Shrine of the Virgin of Guadalupe.

As of May 2008, the Diocese has more than one million Catholics in 80 parishes served by 208 priests, 160 deacons, 142 sisters, and seven brothers. The diocese's territory comprises nine counties in North Texas: Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Fannin, Grayson, Hunt, Kaufman, Navarro, and Rockwall. The diocese is a suffragan diocese of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of San Antonio.


The Catholic history of Dallas began long before the formal creation of the diocese. The city of Dallas was settled by people from Kentucky, Illinois, and Indiana, as well as foreign immigrants and African-Americans. The Catholic population, however, was not considerable: as late as 1868 there was only one Catholic family living in the area. The members of this family were ministered to by priests from an Irish Catholic settlement, St. Paul in Collin County. A certain Father Joseph Martinere, later a domestic prelate and vicar general of the diocese, often made journeys of over hundreds of miles through swamp and forest to reach the area.

The diocese was erected on July 15, 1890 out of the northern and north-western portions of the Diocese of Galveston.<ref...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from