Roman Catholic Diocese of Davenport

Roman Catholic Diocese Of Davenport

Diocese Less

Roman Catholic Diocese of Davenport

to get instant updates about 'Roman Catholic Diocese Of Davenport' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Davenport is a diocese of the Catholic Church for the southeastern quarter of the state of Iowa. There are within the diocese. The diocese's eastern border is at the Mississippi River; the northern border comprises the counties of Jasper, Poweshiek, Iowa, Johnson, Cedar, and Clinton; the western border is made up of the counties of Jasper, Marion, Monroe, and Appanoose; and the southern border is the Iowa-Missouri border.

The current bishop of the diocese is Bishop Martin John Amos. The Latin title for the diocese is Dioecesis Davenportensis, and the corporate title is the Diocese of Davenport. The metropolitan see for the diocese is the Archdiocese of Dubuque. The Cathedral parish of the diocese is Sacred Heart Cathedral.


Before 1881, the Diocese of Dubuque's territory comprised the entire state of Iowa. Previous divisions had taken territory outside the state of Iowa from the Diocese to give to other newly created Dioceses. Eventually, Bishop John Hennessy became convinced that the Dubuque Diocese should be further divided, with the Dubuque Diocese covering the northern half of the state, and the southern half covered by a new diocese. Hennessy felt that the See of this new Diocese should have been located at Des Moines, Iowa. However the Vatican chose Davenport as the See city of this Diocese.

On June 14, 1881 the southern territory of the Dubuque Diocese was...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from