Roman Catholic Diocese of Groningen-Leeuwarden

Roman Catholic Diocese Of Groningen-Leeuwarden

Diocese Less

Roman Catholic Diocese of Groningen-Leeuwarden

to get instant updates about 'Roman Catholic Diocese Of Groningen-Leeuwarden' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Diocese of Groningen-Leeuwarden (; ) is a diocese of the Catholic Church in the northern Netherlands. It encompasses the provinces of Groningen, Friesland and Drenthe, as well as the Noordoostpolder, a part of the province of Flevoland.

The diocese was erected on 2 February 1956 as the Diocese of Groningen. Its current name was created on 4 February 2006.

There are some 110,000 Catholics (or 6.2 % of the total population) living in the diocese, making it the smallest Dutch diocese in population, even while it is the largest in area, covering an area of some 9,205 square kilometers (3,555 square miles). As per the most recent data available, the number of churchgoers in 2005 was 12,435 or 0.7 % of the total population.

The current bishop is Mgr. Gerard Johannes Nicolaus de Korte, former auxiliary bishop of Utrecht, who was appointed on 18 June 2008. The episcopal seat is the cathedral of Saint Joseph located in the city of Groningen.



External links

  • ......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from